

Representing the Districts of Kenora, Rainy River and Thunder Bay

P.O. Box 10308, Thunder Bay, ON P78 6T8 www.noma.on.ca

p. 807.683.6662 e. admin@noma.on.ca

Date: April 24, 2024

Resolution 2024-20: School Bus Stop Arm Cameras

Background:

WHEREAS almost 824,000 students travel in about 16,000 school vehicles every school day in Ontario and according to the Ministry of Transportation's statistics the rate of vehicles blowing by stopped school buses is over 30,000 times every day; and

WHEREAS the Province of Ontario passed the Safer School Zones Act in 2017 which authorized the use of Automated School Bus Stop Arm Camera Systems to detect incidents where vehicles failed to stop when the school bus was stopped, and the stop-arm extended (O. Reg. 424/20); and

WHEREAS the Association of Municipalities (AMO) working on behalf of all Ontario Municipalities made its submission to the Standing Committee on General Government on May 21, 2019, in support of Administrative Monetary Penalties (AMPs) to be used to collect fine revenue for school bus stop arm infractions and other applications, including Automated Speed Enforcement (ASE) technologies deployed in school and community safety zones; and

WHEREAS police resources cannot be spread any thinner to enforce Highway Traffic Act offences throughout municipalities; and

WHEREAS the administrative and financial costs to establish the required municipal Administrative Penalty program under the Highway Traffic Act, and its regulations, are substantial and maybe out of reach for small or rural municipalities that have insufficient amounts of traffic to generate the required funds to offset the annual operational costs of a municipal Administrative Penalty program.

Recommendation:

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association urges the Provincial Government to:

- a) Require all school buses to have stop arm cameras installed and paid for by the province for the start of the 2024-2025 school year; and
- b) Underwrite the costs for the implementation and on-going annual costs for Administrative Monetary Penalties in small and rural municipalities.

Moved By: Lisa Teeple, Councillor of Emo

Seconded By: Alex Crane, Councillor of O'Connor

CARRIED

Wendy Landry President